09/24/12 10:48 PM
Manhattan, New York, New York
James Morrissey Offline OP
I
James Morrissey  Offline OP
I
Carpal Tunnel

James Morrissey, Manhattan, New York Pet Photographer, takes us on an adventure to the NY Wolf Conservation Society, in South Salem, New York.

Re: New York Wolf Conservation Society [Re: James Morrissey] #39168
09/24/12 11:17 PM
09/24/12 11:17 PM
James Morrissey Offline OP
I
James Morrissey  Offline OP
I
Carpal Tunnel

I have always had an obsession with wolves. While I have been trekking out to Yellowstone and the Tetons for several years, most of my experiences with wolves in the wild has been very limited. Wolf sightings have always been at an extraordinary distance and photography was not really an option. I did, as my friend Robert says, get to “fill the memory card between my ears.” As a result, most of my first hand experience of wolves comes from books and zoos.

Some time ago, one of our forum members, Kevin Batchelor, started sharing photos that he had been taking at the wolf conservation center near him and I became intrigued with the concept of seeing wolves in a more intimate fashion. I began researching to see if there were any Wolf Conservation centers in NY. I was surprised to find that there was one less than 45 minutes from my apartment in Manhattan.

The Wolf Conservation Center’s mission is to “teach people about wolves, their relationship to the environment and the human role in protecting their future.” In addition to the educational programs that they provide on-site and off site, they are involved directly in the Species Survival Plan for the Mexican Gray Wolf and the Red Wolf. Both of these groups of wolves are amongst the rarest mammals in North America.