11/22/11 06:27 PM
11/22/11 06:27 PM
Florida
Jim Garvie Offline OP
Addict
Jim Garvie  Offline OP
Addict

Florida
Last week, I bought a Canon 7D to replace my Canon 40Ds. I've been using XXD Canon bodies for almost 7 years and they have always served me well in both my work as a dog show photographer/pet portraitist and in my hobby photography of wildlife and landscapes and anything else I find that is interesting. But, I used a 7D at the 2010 Rottweiler National Specialty and, afterwards, in my travels across the state of Colorado and I realized it was a lot more camera with a lot more capabilities than my 40Ds. So, I finally decided to pull the trigger.

When the camera arrived, I ran it through some basic tests to make sure it was working OK and was very happy with the camera's overall condition. Today, I finally had the time and the opportunity to go out and actually test all (well, most) of the capabilities of this camera. Mostly, I wanted to check out the major differences in the focusing system of the 7D vs the 40D because it is a much more sophisticated system with lots more options and I wanted to learn what to use in different situations. So, I took the camera and my trusty Canon EF 200mm F2.8L off to my favorite place in Orlando: the Shingle Creek Nature Trail.

I've spent a lot of time walking that trail either alone with my camera or with the dogs, usually Rowdy when he was with us. I'm familiar with what wildlife is there this time of year and where it usually is hiding out. So, with the abundance of flora and fauna available in Florida in November, I figured that was an ideal place to test out the 7D in earnest.