The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

Best Focal Length?

Posted By: Neil V

Best Focal Length? - 07/02/08 02:38 AM

Hi all,

I am a nature/flora photographer looking to get into pet photography.

I am curious to know what focal length(s) you find most of your outdoor type of pet photography shot at?

I am thinking that a good, fast 70-200 would be the best but would love to hear from your experience as well...

Cheers,

Neil
Posted By: wallyspop

Re: Best Focal Length? - 07/02/08 02:44 AM

Hi Neil, welcome!
What type sensor are you using? Cropped, full frame? What type of pet shots? Shows, outdoor, indoor, close, far, lighting,etc? There are a number of factors to be considered. I shoot primarily full frame but also have a cropped sensor. Although I have several lenses, including a 70-200 f2.8 L IS, I find most of the time I use my 24-70 f2.8 L. Great focal length overall. The 70-200 has awesome brokeh and tac sharp but limited if shooting a cropped sensor.

Re: Best Focal Length? - 07/02/08 02:54 AM

Hi Bob,

Thanks for the quick reply!

For the most part I will be focusing on (no pun intended) outdoor, natural light photography. For now I will be shooting with cropped sensor cameras. Maybe a full frame down the road but I am trying to put to put the majority of my budget into lenses for now.

Thanks for your input.
Posted By: wallyspop

Re: Best Focal Length? - 07/02/08 10:15 AM