The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

This one's for psmith

Posted By: Jim Poor

This one's for psmith - 01/25/09 12:55 AM

From today's fund raiser.

I'll need to fix the lights of the store in his eyes and the gap in his hair from the collar, but I wanted to post a quickie.

I'm not very experienced with the cat side of the house, so all C&C are definitely welcome. Actively solicited even.
Posted By: psmith

Re: This one's for psmith - 01/25/09 03:31 AM

Love it!
Posted By: Buddy Thomason

Re: This one's for psmith - 01/25/09 05:16 AM

That has the potential to be a dynamite portrait. How about burning the edges when you're done with the other fixes. The increased contrast would make for a stronger image. On the other hand, if 'soft' is the goal, your treatment is ideal. The eyes are terrific.
Posted By: BIRDPOND

Re: This one's for psmith - 01/25/09 04:52 PM

Wow.

Re: This one's for psmith - 01/25/09 04:56 PM

Do you mean the edges of the cat (never really thought of that, might be interesting) or the edges of the frame? I'm actually considering dodging the frame edges at the moment.

Quote:

That has the potential to be a dynamite portrait. How about burning the edges when you're done with the other fixes. The increased contrast would make for a stronger image. On the other hand, if 'soft' is the goal, your treatment is ideal. The eyes are terrific.

Posted By: Julie

Re: This one's for psmith - 01/25/09 05:20 PM

It is a beautiful portrait. I don't think I would burn the edges of this one though. If it were a darker color, then I probably would. Not the creamy color it is though
Posted By: Tony Bynum

Re: This one's for psmith - 01/25/09 05:36 PM

i like it, fix the eyes and it's a done! to many distracting catch lights. I do like the pose and the exposure. . . well done. . .
Posted By: Buddy Thomason

Re: This one's for psmith - 01/26/09 05:43 AM