The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

New to the forum

Posted By: Marie Mitchell Photography

New to the forum - 07/11/09 07:49 PM

Hi everyone,
I've been reading for a week now, so thought it was time to jump in.
I'm a new photographer, been trying to make a go of pet photography for over 4 years now. My focus is on cats and small dogs. I'd love to tackle a cat show, but don't think I am ready just yet. I've only gotten serious about it though, in the last year-taking classes through NYIP and in the fall, courses at my local Community College.
I've been babysitting a Dachshund pup and wanted to share some pics from this morning.

Thanks,
Marie
Posted By: James Morrissey

Re: New to the forum - 07/11/09 08:20 PM

Hi Marie,

Welcome to the community. May I ask how you found out about us? Nice photos - hope to see more...and hopefully a bit larger. :P Just a FYI, I typically post photos at between 650 and 750 pixels at the widest end. Just big enough to view nicely, but not so big that they are used for other purposes.

James

Re: New to the forum - 07/12/09 10:15 AM

Thanks! I have made them larger. A few things I forgot in my original post is, I've had the opportunity for some great mentoring by Larry Johnson, a professional photographer and cat show photographer. He has been extremely helpful and always willing to answer my questions, no matter how silly. I have also spoken with Helmi via email and she was so wonderful in answering some questions. In fact, her site is how I found this one!
I've also joined Maryland PPA and look forward to learning all I can from them.

Posted By: Jim Garvie

Re: New to the forum - 07/12/09 12:29 PM

Hi Marie and Welcome!

Ironically given your comment about my Rotties, mini-Dachshunds aren't exactly my cup of tea yet I've met some wonderful representatives of literally every breed. There are some breeds I wouldn't own but that doesn't mean I don't enjoy meeting the good ones.