The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

how do you handle prints?

Posted By: StarrLight

how do you handle prints? - 09/23/09 07:33 PM

Hi all, I'm behind on reading the forum, am going to try to catch up tonight, but wanted to get a feeling for how you handle prints for dog and cat photography.

Do you print your own? If so, what printer do you use?

Do you use a local or mail print service?

How about a service like smugmug or shutterfly?

I am leaning toward using a service like smugmug or shutterfly for having customers view images and order their prints.

Thoughts? Thanks, Diana
Posted By: Jenny

Re: how do you handle prints? - 09/23/09 08:41 PM

Hi Diana,

I'm just getting started in the business but a friend that does portrait work recommended professional printing for both cost and quality. She uses smugmug which works with Bayphoto and someone else and she likes the results.
I did some price comparisons with Bayphoto, Adoramapics and Mpics and they average out, some are cheaper for some sizes.

I noticed from another post that you are in the San Diego area, so am I.

Jenny
Posted By: DavidRamey

Re: how do you handle prints? - 09/23/09 08:50 PM

I print my own. I use an HP Designjet printer and I control the quality from the time I trip the shutter until the print is delivered. I have no processing delays because a lab gets busy. With the paper and ink, it is still cheaper for me to print my own.
Posted By: Jim Garvie

Re: how do you handle prints? - 09/23/09 08:52 PM

Diana,