The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

Pet Photography: Portable Studio

Posted By: Wayne_B

Pet Photography: Portable Studio - 12/18/10 09:52 PM

I'm a volunteer photographer at the local Humane Society and I'm currently assigned to work with the cats.

I'd like to put together a portable studio so that I can get quality photos to best represent the cats to potential adpoters.

My focus is on the best materials to be used for a backdrop and the material to be placed on the table where the cats will be displayed.

I'd prefer something that doesn't require a lot of work in regards to hair removal. Also the Humane Society requires that we spray the area where the cats walk to prevent the potential spread of disease.

At this point my idea is to use a white background. A portable white table could be used for displaying the cats and could easily wiped off after each cat is photographed.

All ideas are welcome...Thanks - Wayne.
Posted By: Jim Poor

Re: Pet Photography: Portable Studio - 12/19/10 01:26 AM

For most cats, you could get away with a piece of white vinyl.

With the size of most cats, you don't need a full size backdrop, so something from an upholstery or fabric shop would work.

Vinyl can sanitized easily between shoots too.

White vinyl table cloths from a party store might work well too.
Posted By: James Morrissey

Re: Pet Photography: Portable Studio - 12/20/10 12:31 AM

I have seen Helmi and Ken Flick's set-up (not sure if Preston's is the same). Helmi's backdrops are about 4 or 4 1/2 feet wide. However, please note that these are show cats and they are used to being handled. I have photographed only a few cats professionally, and I have found that I often need a bit wider of a birth in order to make it happen.

James
Posted By: NinaS

Re: Pet Photography: Portable Studio - 12/20/10 03:31 AM