The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

New work - Amber

Posted By: debduco

New work - Amber - 09/23/11 03:13 AM

I am gonna try to be more active on this site. I could really use some constructive criticism of my pet photography, especially since I am new to the business.

Thanks,

Debbie

Posted By: DonParrot

Re: New work - Amber - 09/23/11 10:37 AM

What can I say?

I really like this shot - the sharpness at the right position, there#s a nice atmosphere - but I certainly would like it even more if the trees would be standing upright.

I also often fail to get my pics as horizontal as they should be but this can be corrected by just a few seconds of PP.

And in addition, taking off the collar and the leash also would help.
Posted By: Peggy Sue

Re: New work - Amber - 09/23/11 12:30 PM

Hi Debbie,
If you do not mind, I would like to show you how I might handle your image.
Glad you are becoming Pro-active! smile
Posted By: KatieC

Re: New work - Amber - 09/23/11 02:23 PM

First off beautiful doggie smile

I like the shot, but I agree..the trees not being straight and the collar/leash take my attention away from the subject, but I am nowhere near a pro. lol

IMO you have great potential grin
Posted By: Lesley

Re: New work - Amber - 09/23/11 05:45 PM

I disagree, I like the offset angle, I would maybe crop a bit off the top, but it adds interest for me and catches my eye better than as if it were straight. It is more artistic this way IMHO.

Re: New work - Amber - 09/23/11 05:59 PM

I understand what everyone is saying about the orientation of the picture. I did not adjust the image so the tree was upright because the trunk is actually slanted. So the image is true to the actual scene.

Also, I did not clone out the leash/caribiner because I was short on time. Normally I would have done so, especially if it was for a client, absolutely.