The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

please critque - need 3rd opinion

Posted By: Loueen

please critque - need 3rd opinion - 11/30/09 08:00 PM

I am a volunteer photographer for a dog rescue and we do our fundraiser calendar every year with photos of dogs we have placed.
I had done the photo shoot for this dog when he was in foster care, and submitted this photo for the calendar.
I was told it looked "too busy".
Could you please critique?

Posted By: psmith

Re: please critque - need 3rd opinion - 11/30/09 08:24 PM

It is a nice shot of the dog, but there is too much going on in the background. The viewer's eye is not sucked into the dog but wanders through the background looking to see what else is there.

Two solutions for next time, put the dog against a plain background like the white siding on the right, or use a very shallow depth of field to blur the background.

Pretty dog, congratulations in placing him. The subject is definitely calendar material.

Re: please critque - need 3rd opinion - 11/30/09 08:37 PM

Thank you for the advice. He is a handsome boy
Posted By: Jim Garvie

Re: please critque - need 3rd opinion - 11/30/09 10:11 PM

Loueen
the setting is actually very pretty and the dog is quite handsome. As Preston points out, because you have stopped the lens down quite a bit, everything from in front of the dog to infinity is in sharp focus and the eye doesn't know where to look. If you had used a very wide aperture and thrown the background out of focus, this would be a spectacular image.

Jim
Posted By: Peggy Sue

Re: please critque - need 3rd opinion - 12/01/09 12:55 AM

What an absolutely lovely GS. I think cropping the building and a bit from the left, would help. I also feel that the setting is very nice and the suggestions on focus could help. You could PS if you are good with that but for calendars, they seem to want more outside setting shots than studio.