The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

More Texture

Posted By: Jim Poor

More Texture - 03/14/11 03:19 PM

This one started out on seamless paper, so it's not quite as busy as adding texture to an already textured muslin.

Still, I'm not sure if I like it:

Posted By: Julie

Re: More Texture - 03/16/11 05:04 PM

I use texture to simulate more of a painting look meant for canvas. It helps a lot to sell canvases as it goes so well. I think the texture is fine here, but, doesn't add a ton as the lighting is flat and bright.

I'm only putting this here to illustrate what I am talking about, as I am not good at explaining what I mean

Using textures needs to be done with a vision of the finished product, not just to use textures. I have tons of them and some work with a photo and many don't. I have an idea in my head usually what I am trying to do though.

I don't dislike the texture on this photo, but, I don't think it really takes it to a new level

Re: More Texture - 03/16/11 06:06 PM

Thanks.
I'm not quite at the point where I can have a purpose in mind for texture yet. I'm still playing around to get a feel for things.

I did go searching for a nice canvas texture yesterday and I think I'm leaning towards liking finer textures like sand, fabrics, etc as opposed to the more coarse patterns.

I think the thing that bugs me about this one is that the texture is unbalanced with a lot on the right and not much on the left.
Posted By: LauraJ

Re: More Texture - 03/17/11 03:53 AM

Can you make another layer of the texture and flip it horizonally and somehow blend or mask them so the sides are more equal?
Posted By: spotcat

Re: More Texture - 03/17/11 01:08 PM

I'm not sure the texture works together with the reflection; I wonder how this would look with just one of the effects applied. Great shot of the dog!

Re: More Texture - 03/17/11 01:13 PM

Originally Posted By: LauraJ