The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum - Fine Art Landscape Photography

Opal Creek....

Posted By: RomanJohnston

Opal Creek.... - 08/09/10 02:30 PM

This is my first time here with the water being low and revealing the power of the water and the swirling rock sculptures. Only had 30min to work the area, but pleased none the less. Also have my new tool there to get the colors right (article in the works)

Here is the pool I was working:

And here are a few images from that area (more in my gallery)

The colors are dead on. I usually have quite a time editing and my new x-rite tool really helped out. I am currently writing an article on this tool and very happy to add this to my bag.

Roman
Posted By: Sunstruck

Re: Opal Creek.... - 08/09/10 04:48 PM

Very nice Roman. Where is Opal Creek? That water came out so colorful.

Re: Opal Creek.... - 08/09/10 08:17 PM

Hey Penny, Opal Creek is between Salem and Detroit Lake in Oregon. Beautiful country. And YEP! about the water...hence the name.

Roman
Posted By: James Morrissey

Re: Opal Creek.... - 08/10/10 09:50 PM

Hey Roman,

Thanks for sharing. My favorite of the series is the last. I agree with Penny, the color of the water is something else.

James
Posted By: Durwood Edwards

Re: Opal Creek.... - 08/11/10 02:45 PM

Beautiful scenes and great rendition!
Posted By: jadlh

Re: Opal Creek.... - 08/11/10 11:24 PM

These are really great, you have a lot of texture in those photos from smooth water to the rugged tree line, that's beautiful.

Re: Opal Creek.... - 08/12/10 01:32 PM

Thanks Durwood, and Nolad. I love this place. One of my favorites to come back to again and again. With each water level change, new details become eveident.

Roman
Posted By: psmith

Re: Opal Creek.... - 08/12/10 02:16 PM

Beautiful work.

So how did you expose these? What camera/lens? Tripod/head?

Re: Opal Creek.... - 08/12/10 02:24 PM