09/06/08 10:06 AM
09/06/08 10:06 AM
Uturoa, Raiatea FP / Hubbard, ...
maheanuu Offline OP
Tracker
maheanuu  Offline OP
Tracker

The photo that I am posting was shot by my nephew and sent to me and I would like to save it, but it needs some work, and I'm not sure on how to accomplish it. I am using Gimp as my working editor, and can't seem to get this photo to a point that i want. http://mah.smugmug.com/photos/366080869_GYxRm-O.jpg

As you will quickly see that the upper petal of the flower is partially shadowed and being a novice, I have not figured out how to manipulate it to remove the shadow and make the flower photo a keeper. This flower, by the way, is one of the rarest flowers in the world. It grows only on our mountain Mt. Temehani on the island of Raiatea and we have had botanists from around the world try to transplant it or move it with no avail. It is a protected species and there is no picking or disturbing of the plant allowed (which suits me fine). I am not sure if any of you use Gimp or not, but being as my rich uncle had not yet appeared, or let alone, died yet, I can't afford Photoshop CS(X)for my home computer, but I think that the work should be very similar.

The name of this flower is the Tiare Apetahi for any of you that might be interested

Thanks much for any help that might be provided.

Ken Jackson
CPO USN Ret.

Last edited by maheanuu; 09/06/08 10:26 AM.
Re: I would really appreciate some help on this photo [Re: maheanuu] #17352
09/06/08 12:10 PM
09/06/08 12:10 PM
oregon
dave_lines Offline
Venturer
dave_lines  Offline
Venturer

oregon
this is a quicky fix, took the tip off one of the lower flower petals, second from bottom. flipped it. moved and rotated it to fit the shadow part. quick healing brush and clone tool to clean things up a bit. still needs some touch up to match the color of white. DAve

Attached Files
Last edited by dave_lines; 09/06/08 12:16 PM.
Re: I would really appreciate some help on this photo [Re: dave_lines] #17353