Maine, USA
D
dlc Offline OP
Tracker
dlc  Offline OP
Tracker
D

Maine, USA
Hello. Not sure how I found this site but glad I did. The information provided is a 'goldmine' of thoughts, ideas and support. Thank you to those that pulled this site together as well as those that participate.

I am new to photography, so new in fact, I am still learning the basics of everything; shooting, lighting, editing, etc. I have a Olypmus-510, bought in a kit with two lenses. This was the camera of choice because it came in a kit that I could afford. I thought this was the best jumping in point.

My first paid assignment was a wedding, without any formal shots, completely candid. I dont suggest this to anyone by the way, I was completely exhausted when I got home. It was the second wedding for both bride and groom, so traditional shots were not requested. Although, I would have preferred the traditional shots.

They have told me that I would be the photographer of choice to do the blended family holiday shots next month, so they must be pleased.

I had business card's printed using the word 'photographer', more or less to make the client(s) secure and relaxed, like calling the medical resident, doctor. It really should say, 'photographer in training'. I have so very much to learn.

I also am a artist, getting into it after years of ignoring the talent. I started this business by drawing the newborns of friends and co-worker's as gifts instead of the typical receiving blankets or baby bottle's.

Both area's, photography and the artwork are only months old, so new in fact, I haven't made the typical mistakes of getting a business started. I am shy with the artistic ability and must come out of the shell, getting into local art shows to get myself recognized.