09/23/09 03:33 PM
09/23/09 03:33 PM
CA
StarrLight Offline OP
Veteran
StarrLight  Offline OP
Veteran

CA
Hi all, I'm behind on reading the forum, am going to try to catch up tonight, but wanted to get a feeling for how you handle prints for dog and cat photography.

Do you print your own? If so, what printer do you use?

Do you use a local or mail print service?

How about a service like smugmug or shutterfly?

I am leaning toward using a service like smugmug or shutterfly for having customers view images and order their prints.

Thoughts? Thanks, Diana

Re: how do you handle prints? [Re: StarrLight] #25246
09/23/09 04:41 PM
09/23/09 04:41 PM
California
Jenny Offline
Wanderer
Jenny  Offline
Wanderer

California
Hi Diana,

I'm just getting started in the business but a friend that does portrait work recommended professional printing for both cost and quality. She uses smugmug which works with Bayphoto and someone else and she likes the results.
I did some price comparisons with Bayphoto, Adoramapics and Mpics and they average out, some are cheaper for some sizes.

I noticed from another post that you are in the San Diego area, so am I.

Jenny

Bark "Cheese"
Re: how do you handle prints? [Re: Jenny] #25247
09/23/09 04:50 PM
09/23/09 04:50 PM
Alaska
D
DavidRamey Offline
Veteran
DavidRamey  Offline
Veteran
D

Alaska
I print my own. I use an HP Designjet printer and I control the quality from the time I trip the shutter until the print is delivered. I have no processing delays because a lab gets busy. With the paper and ink, it is still cheaper for me to print my own.

David Ramey Photography
Re: how do you handle prints? [Re: StarrLight] #25248
09/23/09 04:52 PM
09/23/09 04:52 PM
Florida
Jim Garvie Offline
Addict
Jim Garvie  Offline
Addict

Florida
Diana,