sarahnewton Offline OP
Wanderer
sarahnewton  Offline OP
Wanderer
S

Cheshire, UK
Hi,

I am new to the forum

I have been visiting for a while admiring the amazing work posted on here and reading the posts, I hope you don't mind me picking your brains.

I am an amateur photographer with an interest in photographing cats and kittens. I am lucky enough to be friendly with some breeders of Somalis who have been kind enough to let me gain some experience photographing their kittens and cats - great fun!!!
Anyway, I have been invited to take some photographs for the UK Somali cat club show ( I will be doing this to gain experience not payment)and really want to make a good impression. The show will be held in a leisure centre and so the lighting will be very poor probably. The judges have given me permission to take photographs of cats on the bench and there will be various opportunities around the show hall before and after the judging. I won't be doing any formal portraits as I do not have studio lighting. I suppose I just want to informally capture the day to the best of my ability.
To be honest its a great opportunity but I am very nervous about how to handle the light. I shoot with a Nikon D200 and am looking at investing in a speedlight (probably a SB800) Any advice you have to offer would be hugely appreciated as the show is in 2 months!!!

Thankyou so much,

Sarah Newton

Re: Question from a new member [Re: sarahnewton] #27816
01/18/10 06:00 PM
01/18/10 06:00 PM
Kansas
psmith Offline
Pooh-Bah
psmith  Offline
Pooh-Bah

Kansas
First a few questions:

1 - What lens choices do you have?
2 - Are you comfortable shooting & processing in RAW?
3 - Are you planning to get studio lights and do formal portraits in the near future?
4 - In this Association do the cats go to a judging ring or do the judges come to the bench?
5 - What is the end result that you are trying to achieve? Is it for web shots for the cat club, or to sell photos to the exhibitors, etc?