James Morrissey Offline OP
I
James Morrissey  Offline OP
I
Carpal Tunnel

Manhattan, New York, New York
The Nature, Wildlife and Pet Photography Forum Presents:
An Interview with Carolyn E. Wright - Photo Attorney

JM: Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
CW: I’m a full-time attorney whose practice is directed to the legal needs of photographers, including copyright infringement, copyright registration, contracts and licensing, and rights of privacy/rights of publicity issues. My website is at www.photoattorney.com, which includes a blog with more than six years of blog entries about the legal issues for photographers. I’ve been in law practice for almost 20 years. Prior to going to law school, I spent five years in various business positions, such as cost accounting and management information systems.

I’ve been a photographer since I was a kid, shooting for the junior and senior high school newspapers. I then started shooting nature. Wildlife and animals remain my favorite subjects. I lead wildlife photography workshops and I’m affiliated with Picade for my licensing. Professionally, I’ve shot commercial work, weddings and portraits. My diverse photography experience allows me to help photographers of all kinds.

JM: Where did you get your degrees?
CW: My law degree is from Emory University in Atlanta, GA, and I have an MBA with emphasis in management and financial accounting and a B.S. in music from Tennessee Technological University.

JM: How did you come to specialize in photographic issues?
CW: I’ve always had a desire to help artists/musicians protect their work. So I concentrated my MBA and legal studies on the areas that most affect creative persons. As an active photographer, I personally became aware of the increasing challenges presented with the digital/Internet age. When a colleague noticed that few attorneys understood the special needs of photographers, the idea of “Photo Attorney” was born.