02/02/20 10:52 PM
Manhattan, New York, New York
James Morrissey Offline OP
I
James Morrissey  Offline OP
I
Carpal Tunnel

James Interviews Canon Explorer of Light, Darrell Gulin.

http://www.nwpphotoforum.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=43629

[Linked Image]
Cowgirl on Horseback, Hideout Ranch, Last Evening Light, Copyright Darrell Gulin

Re: Darrell Gulin - Artist Showcase [Re: James Morrissey] #43630
02/02/20 10:55 PM
02/02/20 10:55 PM
James Morrissey Offline OP
I
James Morrissey  Offline OP
I
Carpal Tunnel

[Linked Image]
Camel Market, Cairo Egypt - Photo by Darrell Gulin

JM: By my calculation, you have been shooting professionally for almost 30 years. What do you feel keeps the business interesting and you relevant today?
DG: Very good! I have been shooting professionally for 33 years. The trick to staying relevant is to continuously learn new things. I study the market. I keep up with ‘what’s going on.’ If there is an app or a new technology, I want to know what it is and how it works. As I do a lot of workshops and lectures, it is important to be able to teach what people are using today. Right now, I probably know as much - or more - as any young photographer. This is important – if you don’t stay relevant, you are lost.

Another important thing that has kept me relevant is my relationship with Canon. In 2006, I became a Canon Explorer of Light -it has been wonderful because it opens doors and gives me opportunities that I might not ever have had. I very much like teaching – and the Explorer or Light program allows me an audience to teach to. Because of the Canon Explorer of Light program, and my work with greats like Joe Van’Os tours, I can say I have been pretty much everywhere.

I love to watch others and see how others work – I have had the opportunity to work with so many great people, Art Wolfe, Joe VanOs and others. It is one of the ways you can continually relearn to be a better photographer. That keeps me relevant.