Part I: About Preston Smith:

JM: Would you be willing to tell us a bit about yourself?
PS: Well, I grew up in small family in a small town in the Piedmont of North Carolina. I was the youngest of three children. I have a brother and a sister. Although I grew up in the South, we later moved to North Dakota where I completed high school. I earned a BS degree in Business Administration from Western Carolina University with a concentration in Economics. In my first career I worked for a large international conglomerate, starting out in Information Technology and then moving into Business Strategy and Development.

JM: Can you tell us a little about what life was like when you were growing up?
PS: Frugal, but happy. My Dad worked and my Mom stayed home to take care of the kids. It was a typical 1960’s family growing up in a small Southern textile mill town. We all had chores to do like washing the dishes, tending to the garden, or mowing the lawn. I learned the difference between right and wrong, and was taught to treat others the way I would like to be treated. We had dinner (my parents call it supper) and discussion together around the table almost every night. Growing up, we always had pets. I can’t remember not having a dog to play with and care for and clean up after. There were also hamsters and rabbits and iguanas around the house throughout my childhood.

JM: Do you have a family of your own?
PS: My wife, Carol, and I have been married for nearly 25 years.. We have two rescue cats and a large extended family here in Kansas. There are 40-50 of us here when we have a family get together.

JM: When and how did you first begin to photograph?