Part I: About Jamie Pflughoeft

JM: Hi Jamie, Would you be willing to tell us a little bit about yourself?
JP: I have always loved animals. When I was little, I wanted to be a veterinarian, and had pet cats, gerbils, rats, frogs, goldfish, and even friendly squirrels we named who swung by the house every day. They were very cute. My favorite squirrel we named Scrappy - because he was missing part of his ear.

I was also always a very creative kid, if not a bit eccentric and moody. I was always drawing or painting or creating something. My parents kept all kind of fun art I designed over the years. I was always winning little awards for my art in grade school. It’s in my blood as my mom was a fine art oil painter and I remember visiting her studio from a young age. I fondly recall the smell or turpentine, and the big coffee cans filled with various brushes.

So my mom was the artist, and my dad has worked in business his entire life, and has an MBA from the same university I graduated from – the University of Washington. It would be fair to say that I got my creative genes from my mom, and my business mind from my dad. It’s an awesome mix and I thank the two of them profusely for hooking up.

It was entirely upon accident that my creativity and love of animals came together to form this pet photography career. I did it as a hobby for a few years before starting a business, never planned to become a professional photographer (it wasn’t even my idea), and never could have imagined myself here, but am so grateful for the path life took me down, because I absolutely love what I do.

JM: What does your family look like today?
JP: Outside of my immediate family (parents and sister), my family consists of me and my sweet little furry girl Fergie. She may have 4 legs, but she’s like my kid and I’d do just about anything for her. (Follow her on twitter at @MissMonkeyPants)

JM: Tell us a bit about when you began to photograph?